A Love Letter – To Myself

I guess it was about 2 weeks ago when the idea to write myself a love letter hit me. It wasnt like a bug just jumped up and bit me or anything – the seed was sort of planted by one of my Tweeps (a “friend” on Twitter). @Comzmikslop decided to write a love letter to herself as if it were written by a guy. You could take a look at it here:

http://almostdailies.blogspot.com/2011/02/if-i-were-guy.html

So this past Saturday night I had to make one of those crazy round trip drives to the other side of Chattanooga. I was pretty much alone – well Cashius was with me on the way back home and he really isn’t into deep conversation.

So anyway, as Cash and I were driving back home – Well, he refused to take his turn at the wheel – So, as I was driving back home I started to let my mind wander off to the places that it likes to go to sometimes.

I started thinking about the love letter that I (or someone) could write to me. And then I started to cry. No . . . . . no . . . . . .  no – The words of the “letter” were not making me sad –

The fact that I was thinking of such things caused a ManHood panic and that lead to tears.

I adjusted pretty quickly – once Cash looked up with a look of surprise on his face. I also came to the conclusion that it was OK for me to be thinking such thoughts. I have run marathons, half-marathons, competed in triathlons, duathlons – I lift weights, run, swim, bike, play tennis, get mad and spit all of the time! I am all man!

It was actually Brad Paisley that brought me back to reality – I Am Still a Guy might just have become my new theme song:

http://www.bing.com/videos/watch/video/brad-paisley-im-still-a-guy/f778518535eb1a21649af778518535eb1a21649a-517459804726?q=brad%20paisley%20i%20am%20still%20a%20guy

So armed with a new-found conviction that I can still be all man and think about romantic kinds of things I went ahead and started writing that love letter to myself.

I thought about some of the things that I have heard that people do for people that they love. I remember reading a story sometime ago about a guy that was going to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro for someone who he loved. I think that his girlfriend had cancer and he was trying to raise money or something.

WOW – That was pretty impressive.

So maybe I could tell me that I was thinking of climbing a mountain for me . . . . .

I started thinking really crazy thoughts about the things that people could / can do / have done / tried to do – for the people that they love. My mind started traveling down some pretty odd roads.

I remembered hearing about a girl who was going to swim across the English Channel for someone who she loved. (While Binging for the article I found these crazy lyrics)

And I’ll swim the ocean for you
The ocean for you
Whoa, Kelsey
And I’ll swim the ocean for you
The ocean for you
Whoa, Kelsey
Oh you, darling

See – Some people would really do it. Or at least claim that they would.

While my mind was out there wandering around I did allow some well know love stories to cross my mind. Afterall, if I am going to write myself a love letter I should probably try to remember some stuff from Romeo and Juliet. Doesnt this story just have all of the elements of love:

          A young man and woman from rival families fall in love, leading to tragic results. The “star crossed lovers” are doomed, but their deaths brings about peace between the Capulets and Montagues.

If memory serves me correctly (and I hate to ruin the story for those who have not heard it) they committed suicide together. I mean, they gave up their very life for the one that they loved.

WOW – Now that is impressive!

OK – So my thought “research” was complete and it was time for me to start writing my self a love letter.

And then it hit me! Someone had already written the perfect love letter to me. Why in the world would I try to out shadow that.

Wanna hear something really cool – Word of that love letter got out and someone else turned it into a love song that should bring tears to your heart.

Here you go. Take a listen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-zqYJj5ucG8

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Love Letter – To Myself

  1. Lance says:

    I am proud of you and your friend for doing these letters. When I was in therapy a few years ago, during my divorce, my therapist tried to get me to write a letter to myself. I couldnt do it. Sure, the codependency was kicking my tail, the emo turmoil of losing the marriage, friends, and the deaths of my grandparents all at the same time were murderous, but I just couldn’t write nice things to me. So, I copied down the lyrics to three songs, Whats So Funny About Peace, Love & Understanding by Elvis Costello, One by U2 & this song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6cud1gp4RE I’ll Be You by The Replacements. Then I sang that song to the therapist. Long story short, she laughed, told me I need to keep working on myself, and made another appointment.

    Good blog post

Leave a Reply

