#50People – Let’s Do This!

Before I launch into my big presentation I need to ask that each of you take the 5 minutes to read through this entire posting. I am even going to tell you up front that I will be asking that some of you depart with a few green backs and I will be asking some of you to lend a hand to make a difference for someone (or many someones) that deals with Childhood Cancer.

September is Childhood Cancer Awareness month. If you are like me, this isn’t a topic that you really want to discuss, think about, or really consider. I mean – we are talking about children getting cancer and that just wounds the heart. I wish that we could avoid the topic but the facts would still be present. “Each year in the U.S. there are approximately 12,400 children between the ages of birth and 19 years who are diagnosed with cancer . . . “

Most of you know that I tend to be a very active person – my kids, training, the Braves, etc … … … I feel like I do my fair share of volunteer work at my kid’s school and with the PTA so it is hard for me to add anything else to my plate. But . . . . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . Every time that Chris Kappy opens his mouth and reminds me about Childhood Cancer I just want to jump into the fight. And that is what I am doing today. And that is what I am going to ask each of you to do today!

“September is Childhood Cancer Awareness Month… Please take the time to do just one thing for a child with cancer this month. Albeit a monetary donation, dropping off dinner at your local children’s hospital cancer unit, maybe buying a coloring book and puzzles for the kids, or offering a family a helping hand. I ask you, no matter your situation, take this month to do one deed for a child battling cancer. Thank you, (Kappy) AKA . . . THE Warrior Of Cancer!

If you are the type of person that needs a little more info please check out who Kappy is:

https://www.facebook.com/#!/WarriorOfCancer

http://www.warriorofcancer.com/

If you are a Braves fan you may recall that Peter Moylan gave Kappy his Pink Bat:

http://www.ajc.com/sports/atlanta-braves/braves-mvt-most-valuable-960859.html

Now – Lets get down to the nitty-gritty. I read Kappy’s quote from above and felt like I needed to get involved in some way. I considered all of the things that I could do this month that helped me to become more aware while making someone else’s life just a little brighter.

  • I thought about trying to find a child suffering with cancer so that I could help make a wish of theirs come true.
  • I thought about taking lunch down to the entire staff of a children’s cancer ward.
  • I thought about finding the parents of a child suffering and sending them to a Spa for the day.
  • I thought this . . .  I thought that . . . and

. . . Finally I decided that I would find #50People that wanted to be part of something like this. I decided that I would ask those 50 People to donate at least $10 each.  Think about it – 50 X $10 is $500. Can you imagine what can be done with at least $500?

Well, I started doing just that and I came to this conclusion: Kappy is already involved in this fight. He is a godfather to a child that has cancer. He spends at least 2 weeks a year at http://www.mycampsunshine.com/ – He knows what should be done with $500 and that is how it should be – I will help raise the money and Kappy will decided what should be done with the money.

By now you might be saying (to yourself) – “DxPepper, why don’t you write a check for $500 and leave us alone” – I thought about that. I figured I could ask She Who Must Be Obeyed to move a few things around in the budget in order to do that. But then I thought about what happens next – Well, I write a check , Kappy does some magic for someone and then . . .  nothing else.

But if #50People get involved in this process and give $500 then the potential for this magic to repeat is far greater. You see, someone is going to be touched so deeply by this that they are going to try to find #75People or maybe #100People – I knew that I would make a greater contribution by getting more people involved.

So here it is – If you would like to be 1 of #50People (or more) that gives at least $10 to a fund that is going to be used by Kappy to bring some joy into the life of a person or people who are affected by Childhood Cancer then please send me an email (creech_chris@bellsouth.net)  – You will be updated often with the plans and with what your money is being used for. You will be as involved with this process as those that are making the plans.

If you want to be involved in the final outcome but are not in a financial position to donate money please let me know – We may well be taking lunch to people or delivering toys or  . . . . who knows what and your help could be used.

If you just cant help in anyway but want to know more about Childhood Cancer: http://www.candlelighters.org/Information/AboutChildhoodCancer/ChildhoodCancerStatistics.aspx

And finally – Use the comment section to encourage others to help in anyway that they can. Share the link via Facebook or RT the link on Twitter.

Thanks

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to #50People – Let’s Do This!

  1. nicole mosteller says:

    Writing a check is way better than dancing!

  2. CDBunce says:

    We follow and support what the ATL Warrior does all year long!! Here in VA we are fighting the fight too. The all volunteer group we work with is Teardrops to Rainbows – here is a sample of the impact we are trying to make patient by patient, family by family…. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpJ3tvn_BiM

  3. Lance says:

    This blog is better than teh speech Ren McCormick gave in Footloose when he wanted a school dance. You didn’t even quote a bible verse.

    well played

  4. matt melton says:

    Thank you for doing this. As a father of a child who lost his battle with cancer I know how hard it can be. When he passed in March we asked people to donate to the BTFC in lieu of flowers and in July some friends that I play games with on facebook held an online fundraiser benefiting the BTFC. I feel that there is more that can be done to raise awareness and fund research as well as helping the kids and there family. I don’t get why there is not more awareness and funding for childhood cancer programs.

  5. Don says:

    I am the Sunday School Superintendent for our church and for one of our mission projects we had the kids get involved with “Crayons for Cancer” (www.crayonsforcancer.org).

    Broken crayons are collected, wrappers are peeled off, sorted by color and then they are melted down into fun shapes (stars, sailboats, lego blocks, etc) and then sold for $1. People often donate more.

    The money goes to help families with children battling cancer to offset costs not covered by insurance (parking, meals at hospital, etc). It also helps replenish the treasure box kids get to pick toys out of when being brave while going through a tough procedure (blood drawn, etc).

    Keep up the good work Chris!

  6. Cameron says:

    Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, would you mind emailing me when you get a chance?

    Thanks,

    Cameron

  7. Pingback: A Tough Holiday Season with Cancer | Dxpepper's Blog

Leave a Reply

