My Bucket List –

know that inviting people to read my Bucket List is sort of like asking friends to come over and to look at vacation slides. So, you are not invited to read my Bucket List unless you want to. But . . . you may want to read this because I hope to entertain, educate, and just encourage you. Actually, I am hoping that you might encourage and educate me.

It is important that you know that I am writing my Bucket List but would rather call it my Life To Do List. I am not old enough to be worried about not doing the things that I want to do. Well, I am soon to be a grandpa (NoPa) so maybe I am old enough. Also, I am not sick . . . but I am just a little unwell. (Anthony James was born 12/8/2011 – I just did not change the draft)

I actually started writing my Life To Do List back in my senior year of high school. The first thing that I put on my LTDL was to not just sky dive, but to “sky dive naked from an aeroplane” . . .  Motley Crue was big back then:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kickstart_My_Heart

skydiving naked from an aeroplane isn’t a voyeuristic fantasy or anything of that sort – I was just prompted by the song and figured that I should just do it that way. (The real truth is – I would rather do it Keanu Reeves in Point Break style)

The next item on my LTDL has been prompted by Forrest Gump and Chris McCandless. I just feel like running . . . ummmm Walking/Hitchhiking my way across the USA. I am not like Holly from Miami F … L … A … so I will not be plucking my eyebrows or shaving my legs on this trip. I just think the idea of loading up a backpack and hitting the road seems interesting. I figure if I do it McCandless style I will meet some awesome people and find myself  in some real adventures!

“So many people live within unhappy circumstances and yet will not take the initiative to change their situation because they are conditioned to a life of security, conformity, and conservatism, all of which may appear to give one peace of mind, but in reality nothing is more dangerous to the adventurous spirit within a man than a secure future. The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure. The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.” – Chris McCandless

The next 2 items on my LTDL come from some internal passion to help others. The first way that I would like to do that is in a way that is so grand that I know that I have saved someone’s life. Have you seen 7 pounds? Yeah, I would like get that call from Gift of Life saying that they found a Bone Marrow match and need mine. I am not so sure how I would react if someone needed a kidney or other organ that I can live without but I just may cross that road one day.

This next one is certainly one that can be done – logistically speaking – with lots of effort and with the help of some really good people like you. I would like to see the #50People process repeat itself in #50States. I think I will start working on my next state – Would you like to help #50People50States take off?

A couple of years back I started messing around with the idea of writing a book. I have put together a few short stories and have written a few excerpts for an internet writing page. I enjoy it. I might just keep at it one day.

And for now the last item on my LTDL. I want to complete one of those life tasks that people look at and say – WOW, how could he do that. But listen . . . those sort of tasks are relative. You see, some of my friends cannot / do not run at all so if I did a 10K road race they would say – YEAH! Others might think I need to do an Ultra Marathon before they will really say YEAH! See  . . . there is a dilemma built into this item. But – I think that I have found my next event – One that most people will say YEAH – HOW DID HE DO THAT! – I want to climb to the top of Mount Rainier.

Ok – For now that is the short and simple version of my LTDL. I will keep you posted my efforts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Bucket List –

  1. squiznit says:

    very amusing
    nice post

  2. M. Bowen says:

    Melanie here! I enjoyed this piece, please email me–I have a question about your blog. MelanieLBowen[at]gmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

