Lets Go On A Run –

If you have absolutely nothing better to do with your time then you are welcome to come along on the run that I had this morning.

I know that sounds a little confusing so let me explain – Today was a mile stone sort of day. I decided to baseline my weight and body fat % so that I could set some goals for getting both of these back to where I think they should be. I have spent the last 10 months allowing health issues, lifestyle issues, and many excuses to keep me from working out in all of the fashions that I am / was used to.

BTW – 164.8 at 19.4

I had already “forced” myself into a run by leaving my car on the shop over the weekend so that they could do some work – I knew that I had to run back to get it 🙂 and that I did.

I plugged in the iPod, put on my rain gear, pulled a hat down to keep the rain from hitting dead in the eyes and off I went.

As (used to be) usual I let the song deck dictate my pace:

My run started with:

Elderly Women Behind the Counter In a Small Town by Pearl Jam and for no particular reason I just let it play on.

Next up – Church Pew or Bar Stool by Jason Aldean. This was a nice little slow pace so it allowed for a little longer warm up. I just let my wonder back to the good ole days in Smyrna! Good memories.

Fix You by Coldplay appropriately came next – I spent some time thinking of and hoping for the best for that lady from several years ago!

This is what I am talking about: https://dxpepper.wordpress.com/2010/10/03/just-awesome/

Better Man was up next – It just felt like a PJ kind of day.

Something To Believe In by Poison. I watched We Were Soldiers last night and I was flooded with the emotion of what those soldiers went through – I thought of all of the Vets out there – We owe them for so much more then we can ever repay!

“Twenty-two years of mental tears
Cries a suicidal Vietnam vet
Who fought a losing war on a foreign shore
To find his country didn’t want him back

Their bullets took his best friend in Saigon
Our lawyers took his wife, his kids, no regrets
In a time I don’t remember
In a war he can’t forget

He cries “Forgive me for what I’ve done there
Cause I never meant the things I did”

And since it was raining and starting to pour down at this point – Water by Brad Paisley

All aboard! Ha ha ha ha ha ha haaaa! Ay, Ay, Ay, Ay, Ay, Ay, Ay Crazy . . . . If you need me to tell you what I thought about for this entire song then you have some “getting to know me” catching up to do.

I wish that I could get this song into this format but I just can’t seem to figure out – The lyrics are very important and moving during this season but hearing Justin Rosolino sing Come Sweet Day does so much more than just reading the lyrics. But here they are:

11 hours and 13 minutes more
‘Til emancipation’s bells will start to ring
‘Cause the law they finally passed
Hallelujah, free at last
So tomorrow makes a man from what had once been property

So come, sweet day
And free me with your ray
For you alone I’ll wait

And finally – my run ended at Honda Car Land with my theme song playing loudly in the ear buds – I feel no shame I’m proud of where I came from
I was born and raised in the boondocks . . .”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=skAOb_EUE_M

This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lets Go On A Run –

Leave a Reply

